[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/sci/ - Science & Math

View post   

File: 173 KB, 700x670, buddha.head.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
4549193 No.4549193 [Reply] [Original]

I've been studying Buddhism and meditating for a few months and a couple weeks ago I think I had some sort of breakthrough about the ego and life as a function of our minds. Now I very often feel kind of like 'out of body'. Not to a huge extent but just like I feel like my actions aren't really mine and I don't have any control over them. It's like I'm just 'happening' and I'm watching myself happen. I get this feeling so frequently now and it is freaking me the shit out. It' not a particularly happy or blissful feeling, it just freaks me out for the most part.

can anyone relate to this or know what to do?

>> No.4549202

Yea, it's called teen angst and the 2deep4u syndrome.

>> No.4549211

I don't think a Buddhist would think it's a good thing to be "out of body" as you describe it. I think they'd say you should be more connect than anything.

>> No.4549217

>>4549211
yeah but how?

>> No.4549219

the body is controlled by the brain and you're just a method of memory and sensory comprehension. Congratulations for realizing it. It's not like animals without a big fat brain are incapable of moving.

>> No.4549223

>>4549219

now for me to figure out if this was written by me, my brain, or some sort of collaboration effort.

>> No.4549230

>>4549219
>>4549223
who thinks your thoughts? who are you really?

>> No.4549237

>>4549193

>Now I very often feel kind of like 'out of body'. Not to a huge extent but just like I feel like my actions aren't really mine and I don't have any control over them

Don't worry, it'll pass.

>> No.4549240

you mean depersonalization/derealization? it's actually a common "symptom" of meditation