[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 32 KB, 640x480, madcat.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
380959 No.380959 [Reply] [Original]

Whole lotta wat.jpg on /diy/ tonight, so I thought I would add something OG-/diy/ to the board.

You might've seen a few of my threads over the last few days. I'm in my last year of college at UCSD and I am working on my senior project: a more or less fully-functional BattleMech cockpit that will run a home-made Mechwarrior-style simulation.

I am designing, building, and programming the entire thing. So far I have a completed shell with a sliding door and an adjustable car seat inside, a fully functional 4.1 surround sound system that runs off of wall power, and a pile of other components that will be going into the machine. Will dump a few pics tonight and post more/answer questions tomorrow.

Most of this project is being done as cost-effectively as possible, so there's some ghetto jerry-rigging here and there but nothing too bad.

For now the sim is going to run off of my computer, interfacing with the control panels and special effects of the cockpit through a pair of ArduinoMEGAs. The surround sound will be done using two stereo audio jacks on my comp that feed into a 12v car audio system. There will be four displays in the cockpit: a front monitor, two peripheral monitors (left/right), and a small 8" display in the dashboard for radar/damage readouts n' shit. (There will also be a few illuminated LCD displays on the dashboard displaying weapon diagnostics/ammo/etc.)

Enjoy! Questions/comments/suggestions always appreciated. Trying to make this thing as cool as possible as it is what I am going to be remembered for at my school, and could potentially land me a job.